The 7 Chakras And How Knowing Them Can Help You


If you practice meditation, or even participate in certain types of yoga or reiki sessions, then you might have heard about the 7 chakras that represent the energy within our bodies. The 7 chakras are said to play important roles in maintaining all aspects of our well-being. Get to know these essential energy points:

Chakra 1: The Root Chakra

The root chakra is associated with the color red. Your root chakra is at the base of your spine and is considered to be a grounding chakra. It is your foundation. If your root chakra isn’t balanced, then emotional problems, like anxiety, are said to occur. The root chakra could become unbalanced due to a stressful life situation. 

Chakra 2: The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is connected with the pleasures in your life, from sex and creativity to emotional expression. It is associated with the color orange. If your sacral chakra is unbalanced, then you might have difficulty feeling happy. You might be moody and have issues with relationships.

Chakra 3: The Solar Plexus Chakra

Considered to be around your diaphragm or belly button, the solar plexus chakra is associated with the color yellow. This chakra connects to your wisdom, will, confidence, and individual power. When you start to feel powerless because of life circumstances, then your solar plexus chakra could be affected. You might seek control or be quick to anger.  

Chakra 4: The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is green and is associated with love and kindness. Having a healthy heart chakra means being able to give and receive love without negatively sacrificing yourself. 

Chakra 5: The Throat Chakra

Located just above the heart is the throat chakra. It allows you to clearly communicate your thoughts and feelings. This chakra is blue and can become unbalanced if you’ve felt like you haven’t been heard by others. 

Chakra 6: The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is indigo and is meant to be the part of you that sees outside of this dimension. It is located between your eyes. Intuition and psychic ability all stem from the third eye. A balanced third eye chakra is an important part of being able to balance your spiritual side with your human side. 

Chakra 7: The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is at the top of your head. It is sometimes depicted as violet, deep purple, or shades of white. This chakra relates to consciousness and universal energy. It is a special, spiritual chakra that goes beyond the human realm. It is considered to be our access to something like heaven or the cosmos. 

Getting in Tune with Your Chakras

Meditation is one of the best ways to align your chakras and feel healthier. Never tried meditation? Take the time to explore apps on your phone, like Buddhify or Headspace, for a quick practice session. You could also join a local yoga class, or explore meditation videos online.